Now they tell me…

A new threat for parents: “Get outside and play or you’ll go blind!”

A study from England’s University of Cambridge finds that nearsighted children spend significantly less time playing outdoors than their normally-sighted pals. There wasn’t any difference in time spent doing “near work” (like homework) in either group, so the investigators conclude there’s something beneficial, eyesight-wise, to getting outside and playing.

Me? I grew up an air-conditioning-addicted kid in Evansville, Indiana, where the tar bubbled up out of the streets

Kids! Don't be like Dr. Sloan!!

from May to September, and showering in the summer was pointless–you were just going to be re-drenched in sweat ten minutes later, anyway. I spent most of the summer in my basement, reading or shooting rubber bands at my legion of plastic army guys.

And, apparently, ruining my vision. Got my glasses at 9, probably should have had them much earlier. If only I’d known then what I know now…

Nah, I’d have gone for the air conditioning anyway. Better to go blind than melt.

2 Comments

Filed under Science

2 responses to “Now they tell me…

  1. I grew up in Palo Alto and the tar bubbled here, too and my sister and spent our summer days sitting outside in the street (we lived on a dead end) in the heat and popped the bubbles with sticks. I got my first pair of glasses at 46. I guess they are right.

    Like

  2. Thus proving the study correct! In my next life I will live glasses-free in a meadow somewhere…

    Like

Leave a Reply

